jump to navigation

Let loose to roam teh internets once more May 13, 2008

Posted by dolorosa12 in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Our old modem completely collapsed the other day. It’s always been a bit iffy, often refusing to connect, but usually what you have to do is switch it off for a few minutes and then it’s fine. We got fed up with doing this, and angrily phoned our ISP. They talked us through a firmware upgrade, which broke the modem. So we got a new one for free. But I had to wait several days.

I realised, when sitting through this torture, how much I’ve come to rely on the internet. Whenever something goes wrong, I jump on #btts and whine about it to the sraffies, or, if no-one’s around, post about it over at the ‘Pub or on LJ or something. But…broken internet, so how could I go online to complain.

Then I realised that much of my daily OCD-induced routine involves the internet. Every day I check my two email addresses several times. I’ll hang out over at the ‘Pub for quite a bit, and also check my LJ friends page. I’m on Facebook quite a bit, too, and I’ll also tend to check out what’s going on at Obernet. I also read a few blogs such as Boing Boing and Joel’s SMH blog, as well as webcomics such as XKCD, Get Medieval, QC and NAR when moony gets his act together.

Without this daily routine, I felt bound, limited, disconnected…caged. This worried me a lot. If you’d told me two years ago that I’d become an internet addict, I would’ve laughed in your face, and then buried my head in a book. Well, I still bury my head in books, but I also bury it in various outlets for my self-absorption. The degree of my distress at being internet-less worries me. But not enough to give up feeding my addiction.

I was in Melbourne over the weekend at my newest sister’s baptism, and I have a few photos to put up, but I’ll probably do that on LJ and Facebook. If you’re reading this, you know where to find me at either of those places.

/me hugs the whole internet, and in particular the above-mentioned sites
Oh, how I’ve missed you!

Comments»

1. jess - May 13, 2008

it worries me too sometimes, but like you, not enough to quit. i realised that i get home from school and spent most of the rest of the day in chat. sure, i also zone out and chat with my roomies and occasionally make plans to see other people who exist outside of the computer in my everyday life, but i spent most of the time in chat. and then during school in between classes, i’m in chat quite a bit too. but the fact that i’m not on top of !stats quite so often anymore comforts me.

2. Trin - May 13, 2008

I understand that feeling. When CC and I were internet-less at our place at ‘Bundah for awhile (stupid ISP disconnecting us too early) I felt totally lost. At least I had internet at work but it just wasn’t the same. I guess it did mean we had to communicate a lot more and not just sit there tapping away at our computers. 😛

But that feeling when you get it back? Only a true addict can understand. It’s life pulsating through your veins again, it’s relief flooding through your body, it’s the connection flashing and Firefox google coming up on your screen. Incredible.

3. Peter - May 13, 2008

Novels, cinema, radio, TV, the internet. Every generation has had its ever-so-slightly-OCD time-eating antisocial occupation to worry about. So far the world has yet to end.

Balance, that’s the key. And a full-time job 🙂 And proving to yourself that you can take a voluntary break – like going on holiday – and not suffer from withdrawal symptoms.

4. dolorosa12 - May 13, 2008

@ Jess: I feel your pain. Although not enough to think that slipping from the top in !stats is a bad thing. With me it’s more like ‘I’m 25th in the list! Now if I can just get to the top 20…’
@ Trin: hahaha and so very true. I know I wasn’t the most sociable housemate (way too much internetting on my part) but it makes me feel slightly better to know that I was sharing a house with fellow addicts.
@ Peter: You’re definitely right, but it’s the balance part that I’m finding difficult. I wish, somehow, that I could spend equal amounts of time reading, because I used to read from the minute I got home from school to the time I went to bed (unless I was out at gymnastics or piano or Kumon or…hang on, that’s what you meant about balance 😛 )I guess I’m saying that I sometimes long for the structure that school and extra-curricular activities provided, and I’ve not yet found anything worth replacing it with.

5. Pandect - June 19, 2008

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Pandect.

6. dolorosa12 - June 20, 2008

Fair enough, Panadect, and thank you. How did you find this blog, anyway?

7. dolorosa12 - June 20, 2008

Sorry, Pandect*.


Leave a Reply

