jump to navigation

Announcement: Victor Kelleher Week December 27, 2010

Posted by dolorosa12 in announcements, books.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Hello, dear readers! It’s been a while. I hope you all are enjoying your holidays!

Back at the start of the year, I had grand plans for this blog. They included a semi-regular segment on ‘under-appreciated authors’, where I was planning to plead the case for authors I love that no one else seems to have heard of. This segment never materialised, due to various things (mainly the fact that I was writing a PhD, as well as a bunch of conference papers, and editing an academic journal). However, now that I’ve got a bit of spare time, I’d like to propose something slightly less ambitious: Victor Kelleher Week.

Victor Kelleher is one of my favourite authors, and has been since I was a child. I credit his books with playing a major role in my philosophical, moral and intellectual development. Although his books are often taught in Australian secondary schools, very few people seem to share my high opinion of him, and he is not widely known outside Australia.

At this point, I’m intending to re-read Parkland, Earthsong and Fire Dancer, which form a loosely-linked trilogy (‘about humanity, responsibility and freedom’, their blurbs inform me), and post about each of the three books. Aside from The Beast of Heaven (which is a book for adults), these are my three favourite Kelleher novels, and they are probably most representative of his work. If everything goes smoothly, I might try doing this for other, ‘underappreciated’ authors.

I hope you enjoy Victor Kelleher Week!

Comments»

1. Catie - December 29, 2010

‘The Red King’ was always my favourite, but I haven’t read a lot. There was one (it might even be ‘Parkland’) that I started a couple of times but didn’t get past the first page or so. But he does write some great stuff.

dolorosa12 - January 2, 2011

I love The Red King. I think it was the first Kelleher I read (or rather, my year six teacher read it aloud to us in class). My favourites are the ones I’m reviewing, though.


Leave a Reply

